A winter slug

18 Jan

It has taken me all day to prepare this post. I struggled to communicate what motivated me to start another blog. I have finally decided to throw eloquence and formality out the window, as these are not natural to me anyway, and just say it like it is. I’ll give you the long-winded version.

I have started this blog because I am a slug. I am a winter slug. The cold weather just about kills me every year. It has gotten worse since moving to Baltimore. In the West it wasn’t as bad because the cold is different  there. It doesn’t chill the way the Eastern cold chills – straight to your bones. But it isn’t just the cold that kills me. It’s the geography too. I am now a city dweller. I live in a city that I cannot run alone in unless it is the middle of the day and I stay out of certain areas. All excuses really because I have a Y pass and I can hit the gym anytime I like. The thing is, for some reason my fitness goals hit a serious slump right about mid-December. This year was especially tough. I was back in school and really driven to do well at my studies. As a result, I stayed up too late, eating food that wasn’t so good for me, sleeping too little, studying too hard, etc. I got great grades but my body paid the price. In just a few short weeks, I went from 3-4 days a week at the gym to 0. After finals, I had a bit of time to prepare for the holidays and recharge my batteries. Then my sweet parents surprised us with tickets to UT for the holidays and my R&R time went down the tubes as I tried to prepare for us to leave MD for Christmas. Fast forward to family time in UT filled with too many treats and not enough exercise and I came back to Baltimore feeling truly like a slug. Blah.

I need help. The idea has been fluttering around in my head for awhile now and I finally decided it needed to be out there. The idea is this: a network of women (and men – if they think they can keep up) spread far and near who want to be a part of something amazing. I want to create a place where ideas about healthy living and fitness can be shared openly. I want to celebrate others and my own triumphs, help work through the stumbling blocks and come up with new and exciting ways to implement positive change in my life and the lives of others. I want to talk about the sore muscles, the yummy, satisfying meals and the peaceful mediative moments that make life sweet.

I am looking for those with similar obstacles, goals and ideas worth sharing.

Why a blog then? It’s easy. It’s bigger than me. It’s a great way to get a lot of people involved. Here’s my motivation – in no particular order:

  • I love hearing other people’s stories, experiences and challenges. It gives me strength and confidence to do things. It helps me grow and push myself in ways I didn’t think possible.
  • I need accountability. I need to know someone else is aware of what I am working towards and help keep my on track.
  • I enjoy giving, as well as receiving, encouragement, support and love when I am trying to accomplish something.
  • Nearly everything in life is more fun when done with friends or family.
  • I have always had greater success in achieving my goals when I have a support system around me. Going it solo is not only more difficult, but also not nearly as much fun.

Mostly I just want to hear your voices, be a part of your lives and hopefully enrich my own in a safe and positive environment. If you want the same things too then jump on in and join the discussion. I do not want to be the only one posting. (Quite frankly, I simply do not have the time to do it alone.) Let your voice be heard.

I love you for your interest, your friendship, your examples and quite simply for the people that you are each and every day. So… What’s on your mind?

5 Responses to “A winter slug”

  1. Traci Magleby January 18, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

    Mishel…I’M IN! I love this! The only thing that worries me…the word “fast!” I’m past my prime, but still kicking, but I love the strength I feel from others! Tell me what to do and how to get started…way to go on starting something great! Let’s get Ingrid in on this! Traci

    • ingridsorensen January 19, 2011 at 12:55 am #

      So Traci– the no-brainer is, we both live in Provo and we should do something together! My new fave thing is to hike the Y in the snow. Right now it’s really muddy I bet, but let’s wait for some new snow to fall. Ya wanna?

  2. Ingrid January 18, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

    A great idea! I think everyone needs a little extra motivation and oomph this time of year, regardless of climate, habit, or excuse-collection.

    My biggest motivator when it comes to exercise, and especially mid-winter exercise, is a buddy. If I know someone is going to be standing out on my cold front porch cursing my name while I press snooze yet again, I WILL get up. I WILL get up and I WILL get dressed and I WILL get out the door. Even in 3-degree weather, even in snow or rain, even at unheard-of hours of the morning (if you can call it morning).

    So, this forum seems kind of like having a buddy to me. You may not be on my cold front porch cursing my name, but you will be watching what I do and IF I do it.

    Smart girl, M! Thanks for the kick-in-the-pants. I know I can always count on you for that, and I love it!

    • tiffany January 19, 2011 at 3:28 am #

      I hate hate hate running in the cold. anything in the cold, really. But I love exercising. I need motivation! I have been good with the eating part, but a big FAT zero on the exercising.

      looking forward to getting some more motivation from you fast running woman.

  3. Laurel January 19, 2011 at 3:31 am #

    I have been feeling the same way, Mishel. Except I’m not in school–I’ve just been surrounding myself with lots of excuses and even more snacks! I think the accountability would help me, too. Right now I only report to the hub on these things.

Leave a comment